GRAND RAPIDS DRUNK DRIVING ATTORNEYS

grand-rapids-drunk-driving-attorneys.jpg

West Michigan DUI Lawyer

You Can Keep Your Freedom
And Your Driver’s License

The DUI and drunk driving laws in Michigan make it illegal to drive with .08 percentage blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or above.

While the best solution is not to drink and drive, if you are caught driving you will need an experienced DUI attorney who will fight diligently to protect your rights. Michigan’s laws for drunk driving and DUI are strict — when you drink and drive in Michigan, you risk your freedom, your finances and your future!

If you have been arrested for a DUI, OWI, or MIP in the Greater Grand Rapids Area, our drunk driving attorney will offer you honesty, integrity, and the experience required when defending you in a Michigan DUI case. The Grand Rapids DUI attorneys at Ledford & Associates will defend and protect your rights, and our courtroom experience will make the difference in your DUI case!

Minor in possession (MIP) is an offense that strictly targets those individuals who are under 21 years old. On the one hand, first-time offenders have the ability under the law to keep their record clean by entering into a special type of probation or "diversion." On the other hand, there are rulings at the federal level that also impact Michigan courts that invalid certain portions of the Michigan MIP statute as it relates to the collection of evidence. Don't get caught up in the system! Contact Ledford & Associates expert MIP attorneys to handle your case.

Hiring an experienced Michigan DUI/OWI attorney quickly will help ensure that your rights are protected. DUI or driving under the influence can either refer to driving under the influence of alcohol, driving under the influence of drugs or driving under the influence of a combination of liquor and drugs. This is the most widely used term for drunk driving cases. DUI or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs does not only pertain to cars or trucks. You can also be charged with a DUI offense for operating a boat, motorcycle, snowmobile, moped, scooter or bicycle.

If you have any questions about any of the above or regarding your own specific needs, please do not hesitate to call our office at (616) 257-3300 to speak with one of our Grand Rapids drunk driving attorneys!

Here are the penalties for each level of DUI charge in Michigan.

These penalties assume no one was hurt or killed:

First Offense:

  • $100 to $500 fine and one or more of the following:
    • Up to 93 days in jail.
    • Up to 360 hours of community service.
  • Driver's license suspension for 30 days, followed by license restrictions for 150 days.
  • Possible vehicle immobilization.
  • Possible ignition interlock.
  • Six points added to driving record.
  • Driver Responsibility Fee:
    • $1,000 for OWI.
    • $500 for OWPD.
High Blood Alcohol Content (BAC of .17 or higher). 

This is one of the operating while intoxicated crimes, but it has harsher consequences.

  • One or more of the following:
    • Up to 180 days in jail.
    • $200 to $700 fine.
    • Up to 360 hours of community service.
  • Driver's license suspension for 1 year. Eligible for restrictions after 45 days of suspension if an ignition interlock device is installed on all vehicles the offender owns or intends to operate.
  • Possible metal license plate confiscation if the offender operates a vehicle without a properly installed ignition interlock device.
  • Mandatory vehicle immobilization if the offense is subsequently convicted for operating a vehicle without a properly installed ignition interlock device.
  • 6 points added to the offender's driving record.
  • Driver Responsibility Fee of $1000.
Operating While Visibly Impaired
  • Up to a $300 fine, and one or more of the following:
  • Up to 93 days in jail.
  • Up to 360 hours of community service.
  • Driver's license restrictions for 90 days (180 days if impaired by a controlled substance).
  • Possible vehicle immobilization.
  • 4 points added to the offender's driving record.
  • Driver Responsibility Fee of $500.

Second Offense within 7 Years (any combination):

Operating While Intoxicated
  • $200 to $1000 fine, and one or more of the following:
    • 5 days to 1 year in jail.
    • 30 to 90 days of community service
  • Driver's license revocation and denial for a minimum of 1 year (minimum of 5 years if there was a prior revocation within 7 years).
  • License plate confiscation.
  • Vehicle immobilization for 90 to 180 days, unless the vehicle is forfeited.
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture.
  • 6 points added to the offender's driving record.
  • Driver Responsibility Fee of $1,000.
Operating While Visibly Impaired
  • $200 to $1,000 fine, and one or more of the following:
    • 5 days to 1 year in jail.
    • 30 to 90 days of community service.
  • Driver's license revocation and denial for a minimum of 1 year (minimum of 5 years if there was a prior revocation within 7 years).
  • License plate confiscation.
  • Vehicle immobilization for 90 to 180 days unless the vehicle is forfeited.
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture.
  • 4 points added to the offender's driving record.
  • Driver Responsibility Fee of $500.

Third Offense Within Lifetime (any combination) is a Felony

Operating While Intoxicated
  • $500 to $5,000 fine, and either of the following:
    • 1 to 5 years imprisonment
    • Probation, with 30 days to 1 year in jail.
  • 60 to 180 days community service.
  • Driver's license revocation and denial if there are 2 convictions within 7 years or 3 convictions within 10 years. The minimum period of revocation and denial is 1 year (minimum of 5 years if there was a prior revocation within 7 years).
  • License plate confiscation.
  • Vehicle immobilization for 1 to 3 years, unless the vehicle is forfeited.
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture.
  • Vehicle registration denial.
  • 6 points added to the offender's driving record.
  • Driver Responsibility Fee of $1,000.
Operating While Visibly Impaired
  • $500 to $5,000 fine, and either of the following:
    • 1 to 5 years imprisonment
    • Probation, with 30 days to 1 year in jail.
  • 60 to 180 days community service.
  • Driver's license revocation and denial if there are 2 convictions within 7 years or 3 convictions within 10 years. The minimum period of revocation and denial is 1 year (minimum of 5 years if there was a prior revocation within 7 years).
  • License plate confiscation.
  • Vehicle immobilization for 1 to 3 years, unless the vehicle is forfeited.
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture.
  • Vehicle registration denial.
  • 4 points added to the offender's driving record.
  • Driver Responsibility Fee of $500.

The above list of charges is taken from the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) website. For the complete list of charges and consequences for substance abuse and driving in Michigan, you can visit the official Secretary of State website from the button below.